top of page


The Six Cello Suites by J.S. Bach are magnificent examples of how music speaks to our shared humanity. Bach Shorts are one hour,

live-streamed performances that seek to connect us through an intimate exploration of these masterworks. Three leading Bay Area cellists will partner with professors, composers, and musicians from around the globe for uniquely personal performances and collaborations.



Bach and the

Dancing Brain

Christopher Costanza's performance explores the profound effect music has on the brain, in collaboration with Stanford University professor Jonathan Berger

Sunday, September 13, 2020 

4:00 PM Pacific Time

Live-Streamed via YouTube (link is available for one week after the concert)

J.S Bach: Suites #2 and #6 for

    solo cello


Christopher Costanza, cello

Jonathan Berger; Stanford University professor, author, and composer



Bach Inspired

Jennifer Kloetzel's performance, 

in collaboration with composer

Elena Ruehr, showcases 300 years

of inspiration


Sunday, October 11, 2020 

4:00 PM Pacific Time

Streamed Live via YouTube Live (link is available for one week after the concert)

J.S. Bach: Cello Suite #1 for solo cello

Elena Ruehr: Cricket the Fiddler            (inspired by Suite #1), World Premiere

Jennifer Kloetzel, cello 

Elena Ruehr, composer

hi_res (1).jpg


Bach Connections

Robert Howard 's performance explores the universal appeal of Bach, in collaboration with cellists from Kenya and Colombia

Sunday, November 8, 2020 

4:00 PM Pacific Time

Live-Streamed via YouTube (link is available for one week after the concert)

J.S. Bach: Cello Suite #4

Select movements from

     Suites #1,2, and 3

Robert Howard , cello

Cellists from Kenya and Colombia

bottom of page